Hall of Fame

2023 Winners

Liz Sheridan

Club person of the year

Ericka Murray

Tom Staunton Memorial Cup

Fastest Female Half Ironman Distance 2023

Barry Guckian

Fastest Male Half Ironman Distance 2023

Grace Callaghan and Aoife McElroy

Most improved Triathlon Female 2023

Paul O’Hare

Most improved Triathlon Male 2023

Past winners

Club person of the year

Club person of the year is voted by the members for the person whose contribution to the club was outstanding for the year.


  • 2022 – James Hardiman
  • 2021 – Stephen Daly
  • 2019 – Kate Hawney
  • 2018 – Gemma Madden
  • 2017 – Fergal Henry
  • 2016 – Barbara Gorevan
  • 2015 – Carmel Mullaney
  • 2014 – Paul Rutherford
  • 2013 – Eamon McAndrew
  • 2012 – John Burrows
  • 2011 – Colm Casey

Paul Rennick Cup

Male Olympic distance champion

This trophy is in memory of local legend Paul Rennick. Paul was tragically taken from us while living in Australia on the 31st Aug 2011 aged 33. To say that Paul was a life and soul kinda guy is putting it mildly. Known to all that partook in anything water related, Paul was a watersports fanatic. He will be remembered best for his surfing and kitesurfing prowess! He was also an active Sligo triclub member, open water swimmer and lifesaving enthusiast. Always joking, he was a great guy to be around and always up for Havin’ A Laugh! He is missed by family and friends and anyone who came in contact with him. Forever in our thoughts Paul.



  • 2018 – Kevin O’Donnell
  • 2017 – Kevin O’Donnell
  • 2016 – Kevin O’Donnell
  • 2011 – Neil Walton

Sponsored by Kool Kids

Tom Staunton Memorial

First female home for club

An Garda Siochana Sligeach dedicated a trophy in memory of their colleague Tom Staunton. The Westport man served as a detective in Sligo. He was a keen cross country runner and was involved in the establishing of Sligo Athletic Club. In 1983 he was instrumental in bringing the NCF triathlon to Rosses Point and in the foundation of the triathlon club.



  • 2022 – Ruth walsh
  • 2021 – Kate Hawney
  • 2018 – Heather Foley
  • 2017 – Heather Foley
  • 2016 – Cathy McCarthy
  • 2013 – Caoimhe NiMhurchu
  • 2012 – Cecilia McGuinness
  • 2011 – Saoirse O’Donnoghue
  • 2010 – Caoimhe NiMhurchu

Dedicated by Garda Siochana Sligeach

Pat Curley Cup

First male home for club

Although Pat Curley died 59 years young, he contributed to almost every aspect of sport in Sligo. A son of Athlone and a graduate of Strawberry Hill, London, he came to teach in Summerhill in 1970 and moved to the RTC in 1974 where he aptly became known as “Mr. Sport”. He was a founding member of Sligo AC, where he also coached, having represented Ireland in sprinting he had plenty of knowledge to share. He was involved in GAA, rugby, the community games and the establishing of the Warriors run. But it was his involvement in bringing the first Triathlon in Ireland to Rosses Point in 1980 that we are most grateful for. Pat Curly was also responsible for the founding of the sports complex.



  • 2022 – Trevor Hunter
  • 2021 – Kieran McMorland 
  • 2019 – James Coulter
  • 2018 – Kieran McMorland
  • 2017 – Kieran McMorland
  • 2016 – Eamon McAndrew
  • 2013 – Ross McLynn
  • 2012 – Eamon McAndrew
  • 2011 – Eamon McAndrew
  • 2010 – Neil Walton
  • 2009 – Patrick Tuohy
The Pat Curley Cup was dedicated by Pat’s friends in Sligo Institute of Technology.

Female Half Ironman

Fastest female time in a Half Ironman


  • 2022 – Ruth Walsh
  • 2019 – Heather Foley
  • 2018 – Roberta McDonald
  • 2017 – Ruth Walsh
  • 2016 – Sheila Devaney
  • 2015 – Cathy McCarty
  • 2011 – Cecilia McGuinness

Ironman World Championship – Kona

The Ironman World Championships takes place in Kona, Hawaii. It is the annual culmination
of a series of Ironman triathlon qualification races held throughout the world. This event
covers 140.6 miles and is the ultimate test not just to the body but also the mind.

The legendary course at Kona takes the athletes through the barren lava landscape
providing this amazing setting.

Sligo Triathlon Club has had a number of its members who have made the qualifying times
for the world championships and some have made that journey to Kona.

Ross McLynn


Ross qualified for the World Age Group Championship in Kona out of IM Barcelona in 2015 with an 8:58 hour race.

Ross went on to complete the 2016 Kona in 9.47 hours


Paul Rutherford


Paul qualified for the World Age Group Championship in Kona out of IM Copenhagen 2017

Paul went on to complete the 2017 Kona in 11.25 hours (Swim:1.18, bike 5.45, run 4.11)


In 2018, Paul qualified again for the World Age Group Championship in Kona out of IM Italy (Emilia Romagna)

Paul went on to complete the 2019 Kona in 10.11 hours (Swim 1.07, bike 5.04, run 3.51 )


Gary Higgins


Gary qualified for the World Age Group Championship in Kona out of IM Copenhagen in 2017

Gary went on to successfully complete the 2017 Kona in the same year

Eamon McAndrew

Eamon has qualified for the World Age Group Championship in Kona three times:

  • IM Barcelona 2015
  • IM Copenhagen 2017
  • IM Barcelona 2018